Johnson, Noem, Thune all vote for fiscal cliff deal

All three of South Dakota’s lawmakers voted for the compromise bill to resolve the “fiscal cliff” of tax hikes and spending cuts.

Rep. Kristi Noem voted just this evening, one of 85 Republican yes votes on the bill. Overall the bill had 257 yes votes, 172 of them Democrats. The no category had 151 Republicans and 16 Democrats. A bill needs around 218 votes for passage.

View the roll call here.

On New Year’s Eve, Republican Sen. John Thune and Democratic Sen. Tim Johnson both voted for the bill, which passed the Senate overwhelmingly.

The total was 89 yes, eight no. Forty-seven Democrats voted yes, and three Democrats voted no. Forty-two Republicans voted yes, and five voted no.

View the roll call here.

Will supporting this measure have any negative political consequences for South Dakota’s delegation?