State representative resigns

State Rep. Patty Miller, R-McCook Lake, has resigned for personal reasons, Gov. Dennis Daugaard announced Wednesday.

Daugaard will appoint a lawmaker to serve out the remainder of Miller’s term.

She represents District 16, the southeastern corner of the state. That district is also represented by Rep. Jim Bolin, who will be running for commissioner of School and Public Lands instead of reelection next year, and Sen. Dan Lederman.

Another lawmaker is planning on resigning in the coming months. Rep. Jon Hansen, R-Dell Rapids, confirmed reports Wednesday that he’d be stepping down this year.

The news of Hansen’s resignation was first reported by the South Dakota War College.